The leading universities of the EAEU countries have teamed up for joint research in the field of information support for Eurasian integration

7 July 2021

MSU Faculty of Journalism contracted with the universities of Kazakhstan, Belarus, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan to promote scholarly and educational cooperation. Celebratory signing was held via Zoom on June 4.

The event was conducted in a festive atmosphere, with solemn welcome speeches given by Heads of the educational institutions Prof. Erlan Sidikov (L. N. Gumilyov Eurasian National University), Prof. Dmitry Medvedev (Belarusian State University), Prof. Nina Kevorkova (Institute of Media, Advertising and Film Production of Russian-Armenian University), and Prof. Altin Asanova (Bishkek Humanities University). The Faculty of Journalism was represented by the Dean, Academician of RAS, Prof. Elena Vartanova.

In her welcoming address, Prof. Elena Vartanova emphasized that these agreements are of utmost importance for the Faculty of Journalism, since they open up a new path of international cooperation with the universities of EAEU member states. This cooperation will be fostered as an important development trajectory of Eurasian Media Studies Center founded by the Faculty to enhance the interaction of the EAEU countries in the field of media studies, as well as activate the Eurasian dialogue in media.

CEO of EMSC, coordinator of educational and research programs with the EAEU countries Dr. Olga Vikhrova explained that the main task of the Center is to unite the intellectual potential of states in order to organize interaction between leading centers of journalism education in the field of media research, journalism and media systems of the countries of the Eurasian Economic Union, as well as exchange of experience in professional training of qualified personnel, which will contribute to the subsequent intensification of the Eurasian dialogue in the media.