Academic Degrees to be Mutually Recognized in the EAEU States

15 June 2023

At the booth of the Ministry of Education of Russia, which was presented at the Eurasia is Our Home exhibition, a number of panel discussions and cooperation agreements signing took place. The exposition itself was held on the territory of the Sirius Science and Art Park as part of the Russian representation in the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU).

During the meeting, an intergovernmental agreement on the mutual recognition of documents on academic degrees in the EAEU member states was adopted.

Early as this summer, at the sites of three Russian universities – Ural Federal University (UFU), Siberian Federal University (SFU), Kazan Federal University (KFU) – a large-scale project “Summer University” will start to educate students from Russia, near and far abroad. This will be a platform for foreign youth to get acquainted with the potential of Russian education.

The Summer University project will be able to provide a new point of growth for the social and economic development of the EAEU. For the participants there were prepared 18 educational programs, including those in English. At least six educational programs of each university await the students, as well as professional development programs for teachers. Moreover, a cultural block with excursion programs and master classes was developed for the participants.

The value and significance of this project is in uniting students and in their further productive learning:

“This is the purpose of the university – to be the place that unites talented students, gives them a high quality education, introduces them to scientific research and develops them comprehensively. We see examples of how our graduates have succeeded in various industries,” said SFU’s Rector Maxim Rumyantsev.

It should be noted that in 2023 the Summer University project will cover 24 countries and bring together about 1.2 thousand students.

Photo source: Aglaya Kovaleva